

Permits Information Bulletin

No Structures Sub-zones

March 2006

Background

Our goal is to provide for the protection, wise use, understanding and enjoyment of the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park in perpetuity through care and development of the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park.

No Structure Sub-zones were first introduced into the Marine Park in 1322 through the former *Cairns Section Zoning Plan*, to ensure that some a sas of the Marine Park remained free from installations such as pontoons and other structures. In 2003, the *Cairns Section Zoning Plan* was replaced by the *Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Zoning Plan*. To help keep the new Zoning Plan simple, it was decided that the No Structure Sub-zones would be appearented through other mechanisms. If required, the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority will consider listing each of the No Structure Sub-zones as Special Management Areas under the *Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Regulations* 1983.

Objective

The objective of No Structure Sub-z means of the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park remain:

- a) in a natural state, largely unaltered by human works; and
- b) free from structures and perican intly-moored facilities, except for approved vessel moorings, approved management, research and monitoring facilities and approved navigational markers which are essential for the protection, wise use, understanding and enjoyment of the Marine Park.

Management

In order to install a structure or permanently moored facility within the Marine Park, a permit is required from the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority. To protect the environment in particularly sensitive locations and to preserve the natural state of the Marine Park for visitors, applications to install structures (eg. jetties) or permanently moor facilities (eg. pontoons, glass bottom boats) at those locations included in No Structure Sub-zones in the former *Cairns Section Zoning Plan 1992* and listed at Schedule 1 to this policy, will continue to be considered in terms of their compatibility with the objective of No Structure Sub-zones, as described above.





Locations

No Structure Sub-zone locations described in the former *Cairns Section Zoning Plan 1992*.

1. Hilder Reef
2. MacGillivray Reef
<u> </u>
3. Nymph Island Reef
4. Eyrie Reef
5. Two Islands Reef
6. Low Wooded Island Reef
7. Three Islands Reef
8. Endeavour Reef complex
9. Pearl Reef
10. Pickersgill Reef
11. Mackay Reef
12. 'unnamed reef' Chinamans Reef
13. Saxon Reef
14. Escape Reef
15. Opal Reef
16. Channel Reef
17. Cayley Reef
18. Peart Reef
19. Feather Reef
20. 'unnamed reef' Shark/Noreaster Reef complex
21. Carter Reef to Ribbon Reef No. 10
22. The area of dugong halm that of Lookout Point
23. The Turtle Group
24. Lizard Island
25. South Direction Many to Rock Islets
26. Ribbon Reef 20. 7 to Williamson Reefs
27. Hope Islands
28. Cairns Reef to Gill Patches
29. Cedar Bay (Obree Point to Fritz Creek)
30. Cape Tribulation to Lake Reef (Weary Bay)
31. Noah Head
32. Coastline adjacent to Mt Emmett
33. Alexandra Bay – Cooper Creek to Bailey Creek
34. Bailey Point
35. Coastline adjacent to Black Rock
36. Cape Kimberley and Snapper Island
37. Undine Reef
38. Michaelmas Reef to Upolu Cay
39. Euston Reef to North West Reef



40. Elford and Briggs Reefs	
41. Sudbury Cay	
42. Sudbury Reef (Flora Pass)	
43. High Island	
44. Frankland I slands (South)	
45. North Barnard Islands	
46. South Barnard I slands	
47. Beaver and Taylor Reefs	



